Whole Roasted Chicken

Magnolia Table – Volume 2
Joanna Gaines

I decided to make this just to try a different roasted chicken recipe.  It’s no secret that I love chicken.  I could eat it every day.  And while I love the Fabio’s recipe that I make all the time, every once in a while it’s nice to switch things up.  And this one caught my attention enough to try it and I liked it enough that I’ll probably make it again.  Basically, it’s a nice option to add to the chicken rotation.  Although next time I think I’ll use less vegetables, if for no other reason than the quantity was too much for 3 people.  So a little less on the vegetables would just work better for us.  However, if you’re a fan of lots of veggies, have at it.  I’m a firm believer that recipes are made to be tweaked.  So do what works for you.

Something else I will add is to use the cooking times as estimates.  All ovens are different so cooking times will never be exact.  So if it doesn’t look right, it’s okay to adjust on the fly.  And while the chicken was definitely full cooked, I think next time I will leave it in a little longer so it browns a little more. So there are my takes on this recipe.



Ingredients

One 4-ound whole chicken
1 tablespoon olive oil
1½ teaspoons kosher salt
¾ teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
1½ pounds baby potato medley or tricolored baby potatoes
6 large tricolored carrots, trimmed and cut into thirds, or 4 cups baby carrots*
1 medium yellow onion, quartered
4 tablespoons (½ stick) unsalted butter
¼ cup good-quality dry white wine
2 garlic cloves, chopped
Grated zest of 1 lemon
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon garlic salt
1 bunch broccolini or 1 broccoli head, cut into 1-inch florets
1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley

I couldn’t find tricolored carrots and didn’t want to use baby carrots so
  I just used regular carrots.  Don’t call the carrot police on me.  


 

  1. Preheat the over to 425ºF
  2. Tie the legs of the chicken together with kitchen string. Place the chicken in the center of a sheet pan. Rub the skin with oil and sprinkle evenly with the salt and pepper. Arrange the potatoes, carrots, and onion quarters around the chicken.
    IMG_1959
  3. In the small saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat, stir in the wine, garlic, lemon zest, lemon juice, and garlic salt and cook for 1 minute. Drizzle half the wine sauce over the vegetables, tossing the coat.
  4. Bake for 35 minutes. Reduce the over temperature to 325ºF, add the broccolini to the pan, and bake until an instant-read thermometer inserted into the thick thigh registers 165ºF, 40 to 45 minutes. Baste the chicken with the remaining wine sauce in the last 10 minutes of cooking.
    IMG_1960
  5. Remove the pan from the oven, tent the chicken and vegetables with foil, and let it sit for 15 minutes. Cut the chicken into slices to serve, or serve family style, cutting the chicken into 8 pieces.
  6. Sprinkle the vegetables with the parsley.

 

IMG_1958
Before
IMG_1961
After

Leave a comment