Crab Cakes with Rémoulade

So… full disclosure… the recipe is actually Crab Cakes with Snow Pea Slaw. But I didn’t make it with the snow pea slaw so I’m leaving it out of this particular post because it’s a separate recipe. If anyone wants me to post it, I absolutely can, but I haven’t tried it yet.

Now… on to the actual crab cakes. O-M-G… amazing. LOVED them. This will be my go-to recipe for crab cakes going forward. I’ve tried others and they were okay, but I was never super thrilled. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve made them and enjoyed them. But there was never a crab cake recipe that I’ve tried that wow’ed me. This one wow’ed me. Big time… I’ll definitely be making these again, without a doubt.


Okay… so a note about how I customized this to suit my own taste. I pretty much followed this recipe to the letter with the exception of the capers (which I reduced to 1 tablespoon) and I skipped the chives because I’m not a fan.


Ingredients:

Rémoulade
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1 small garlic clove, finely grated
1 1/2 tablespoon capers
1 1/2 tablespoon whole-grain mustard
1 tablespoon ketchup
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh chives


Crab Cakes
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1 large egg
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
8 ounces jumbo lump crabmeat
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil


To make the rémoulade, in a medium bow, whisk together the mayonnaise, garlic, capers, mustard, ketchup, chives, parsley, hot sauce, lime juice, salt, and pepper to taste. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until serving.

To make the crab cakes, in a medium bowl, whisk together the mayonnaise, egg, lime juice, Old Bay, and salt. Add the panko and crabmeat and toss with a fork to combine. Shape the mixture into four patties.

In a large nonstick skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Fry the crab cakes on both sides until golden brown, 3 to 4 minutes on each side. Transfer each to a plate and serve with rémoulade.

Leave a comment